I am going to be a writer.

Talking is just not my thing. I’m like a swan when it comes to talking. Not in a “beautiful but violent and dangerous” kind of way, but more in a “on the surface she looks calm and ready to drop bombs” but am frantic and struggling under the surface kind of way. On paper I don’t stutter, or struggle to make sensible sentences, and I can take the time I need to get the words in the right order.

As my final week as a Nectarine quickly approaches it’s end, I’m really starting to come to terms with the fact that I’ll be able to give my little babe shorter daycare days which she so desperately needs, and that I’ll have so much more time on my hands to pursue my own wild heart. I don’t regret my decision to go back to work at all. If anything, it made everything even clearer for me! I absolutely love my job, and the people I work with, but I need to do what’s right for my tiny one-and-a-quarter-people family.

All day I dream of writing for a living. Every time we adventure I’m wishing someone would pay me to write to Kiwi’s and the rest of the world, and let them know how family-friendly and accessible our beautiful country is. Every time I feel like I’ve failed at parenting, I wish someone would give me a greater reach in telling parents that we’re all actually incredible. Every time I’m proud of my baby, I want even more people to read my blog and cry happy tears with me.

So I’m going to write.

It means I’ll have to do it the way my unread Pinterest board with 20 Helpful Tips To Get Paid For Blogging tells me. I’ll have to start spell checking, and proof reading, and probably not swearing. I’ll have to write to a schedule more accurate than, “oh ya know, just before The Desolation Of Smaug finishes”. I’ll have to start word counting, and planning, and writing about more things, and possibly from a less biased viewpoint.

But I’m going to do it.

This year I have watched as a few of my incredible friends have turned an idea into a business into a whole new amazingy happy life. I’ve seen the hard work, the tears, the stress, the success, and then the hard work that comes with the success. I’ve seen ordinary kiwi’s doing extraordinary things, all because they were passionate to begin with, and prepared to do the damn thing. I hope these people read this too, because even if I’ve told them already, I’m so proud of them, and inspired by them.

Now it’s our turn.

Please stick with us. I know we started as a Single Mummy Blog and that is why so many of you beautiful people continue to stick it out with us, and even though I didn’t know it when we started, somewhere along the way I have realized we are so much more than a single-mummy-tiny-family. We have so many more stories to tell, so many more places to see, and I just want to write every single day of my life and share this with you.

You might start to see changes around the place soon(ish). A bit of a rebrand and a vamp up, some rather official Emmy & Me photo’s, and a fresher looking “proper” blog. Underneath it all, it’s still just me and her attempting life, love, and happiness. Sometimes our blog makes us look so put together and mature, but if only you followed our Snapchat you would quickly see we are total fools.

In the meantime I’ll be looking for more housekeeping and bookkeeping work because this writing gig doesn’t quite cover the bills.

Yet.

‪#‎emmyandme‬ ‪#‎singlemummylife‬ ‪#‎dreamchasers‬

